David Marshall from Heritage Architecture and Planning and his team have been involved since the early days of the Hotel del Coronado Master Plan, and continue to serve as the Hotel Del's historic preservation architect of record. They have been instrumental in leading us through the restoration and renovation of the industrial buildings as well as the upcoming re-creation of the historic front porch.
As part of the Hotel Del’s commitment to preserving its rich history, bricks that were originally used to construct the Garage building in 1918 were carefully removed and preserved. These bricks will be re-used to create the Legacy Court, a brick terrace that will serve as the entrance to our new History Gallery. The History Gallery will be developed in the Ice House building to the north of the Laundry Building, between the Laundry Building and the Power Plant. The History Gallery will be a flexible space designed to showcase elements of the resort’s history, as well as a meeting place for daily history tours and a unique event space for intimate cocktail parties and receptions.